Snapshot image purged

A snapshot image was purged. This problem occurs when a snapshot group's repository becomes full and and the policy for the group is to purge the oldest snapshot images, or when the amount of data written to the source volume in an online copy operation exceeds the capacity of the copy operation's repository. The Recovery Guru Details area provides specific information you will need as you follow the recovery steps.

Important:
  • Although deleting the purged snapshot image will fix this problem, it is important that the repository for the snapshot group has enough capacity for the number of snapshot images allowed. If there is also a "Snapshot Group Repository - Full" problem reported in the Recovery Guru Summary area, fix that problem to avoid reoccurrence of this problem.

  • When a snapshot image is purged, the following occurs:

    • It is no longer usable and must be deleted

    • It cannot be used for a rollback operation

    • It cannot be used to create a snapshot volume

    • All existing snapshot volumes associated with the snapshot image will be disabled

  • Enabling the Auto-Delete setting for the snapshot group allows for the automatic deletion of snapshot images from the group when the set limit is reached. Lowering the limit may help reduce repository capacity problems because a smaller number of snapshot images are kept in the snapshot group. This will free up repository capacity to be used for future write operations and will prevent snapshot images from being purged.

Recovery Steps

  1. Check the associated with volume copy field in the Recovery Guru Details area to see if the affected snapshot image is associated with a volume copy operation.
    If... Then...
    The affected snapshot image is associated with a volume copy operation Complete the recovery steps in the "Failed Copy Operation" recovery procedure to fix the purged snapshot image. Do not continue with the remaining recovery steps in this procedure.
    The affected snapshot image is NOT associated with a volume copy operation Go to step 2.
  2. On the Storage and Copy Services tab in the Array Management Window, highlight the affected snapshot image identified in the Details area.

  3. Select the Copy Services > Snapshot Image > Delete menu option.

  4. Follow the instructions in the dialog, and type "yes" to confirm the operation.

  5. Click the Delete button.

  6. Click the Recheck button to rerun the Recovery Guru. The failure should no longer appear in the Summary area. If the failure appears again, contact your Technical Support Representative.