Snapshot group or member volume – reserved capacity threshold exceeded

The reserved capacity for a snapshot group or snapshot consistency group member volume has exceeded an alert threshold setting.

Important:
  • If you do not resolve this problem, this is the last warning you will receive before the reserved capacity becomes full.

  • If the reserved capacity becomes full, the failure policy determines what happens to the associated snapshot images as described below.

  • The automatic purge failure policy (default) will purge the oldest snapshot images to free up capacity that can be used for future write operations. The snapshot images that are purged will no longer be usable and must be deleted.

  • The reject writes failure policy will fail write requests to the base volume that require the reserved capacity but the snapshot images can still be accessed.

  • To determine the failure policy, go to Storage > Pools & Volume Groups and select the Reserved Capacity tab. Then, highlight the affected snapshot group or snapshot consistency group and select View/Edit Settings.

  • You can resolve this problem in three ways (or through a combination of these three): (1) Increase the reserved capacity, (2) Increase the alert threshold (this will reduce the time you have to respond the next time you receive a threshold exceeded notification), or (3) Manually delete the oldest associated snapshot images to free up capacity.

  • The Auto-Deletion setting allows for the automatic deletion of snapshot images when the set limit is reached. Lowering the limit may help reduce reserved capacity problems because a smaller number of snapshot images are kept in the snapshot group or snapshot consistency group associated with the member volume. This will free up reserved capacity to be used for future write operations.

  • To access the Auto-Deletion setting for a snapshot group, go to Storage > Pools & Volume Groups and select the Reserved Capacity tab. Then, highlight the affected snapshot group and select View/Edit Settings.

  • To access the Auto-Deletion setting for a snapshot consistency group, go to Storage > Snapshots and select the Consistency Groups tab. Then, highlight the affected snapshot consistency group and select View/Edit Settings.

Recovery Steps

  1. Do you want to increase the reserved capacity, increase the alert threshold, or delete the oldest snapshot image?

    • If you want to increase the reserved capacity (snapshot group or member volume), go to step 2.

    • If you want to increase the alert threshold (snapshot group or member volume), go to step 3.

    • If you want to delete the oldest snapshot image for a snapshot group, go to step 4.

    • If you want to delete the oldest snapshot image for a member volume, go to step 5.

  2. Increase the reserved capacity, and then go to step 6.

    1. Go to Storage > Pools & Volume Groups. Then, select the Reserved Capacity tab.

    2. Highlight the affected snapshot group or snapshot consistency group member volume shown in the Details area.

    3. Select Increase Capacity and increase the capacity appropriately.

    4. Go to step 6.

  3. Increase the alert threshold, and then go to step 6.

    1. Go to Storage > Pools & Volume Groups. Then, select the Reserved Capacity tab.

    2. Highlight the affected snapshot group or snapshot consistency group member volume shown in the Details area.

    3. Select View/Edit Settings and adjust the reserved capacity threshold to a value higher than its current setting.

    4. Go to step 6.

  4. Manually delete the oldest snapshot image for the snapshot group, and then go to step 6.

    1. Go to Storage > Snapshots. Then, select the Images tab.

    2. Sort the table by selecting the Associated Base Volume column.

    3. Highlight the affected snapshot image associated with the snapshot group shown in the Details area. Note that if there is more than one snapshot image associated with the base volume, highlight each snapshot image and select View Settings to verify that the snapshot image is associated with the affected snapshot group.

    4. Select Delete.

    5. If necessary, repeat these steps to delete other snapshot images.

    6. Go to step 6.

  5. Manually delete the oldest snapshot image for the member volume, and then go to step 6.

    1. Go to Storage > Snapshots. Then, select the Images tab.

    2. Sort the table by selecting the Associated Consistency Group column.

    3. Highlight the affected snapshot image associated with the snapshot consistency group member volume shown in the Details area.

    4. Select Delete.

    5. If necessary, repeat these steps to delete other snapshot images.

    6. Go to step 6.

  6. Select Recheck to ensure the problem has been resolved.