Restoring Lenovo XClarity Administrator

You can use backed up data and settings to restore Lenovo XClarity Administrator to a previous state.

Before you begin

Attention: Ensure that you notify all active users before you initiate the backup procedure. XClarity Administrator is quiesced during the procedure to prevent data from being modified. Therefore, you cannot access XClarity Administrator while the backup procedure is running

Download the Certificate Authority certificate from the XClarity Administrator virtual appliance and import the certificate into your web browser (see Importing the Certificate Authority certificate into a web browser).

Ensure that all running jobs are complete and that there are no pending jobs.

About this task

Attention:
  • All changes since when the backup was created will be lost.

  • To restore data, the virtual appliance is reset to its original clean state. All current settings, device inventory and files (operating-system images, firmware updates, and OS device drivers) are deleted before restoring data in the backup. Data and settings in the backup are not mixed with the virtual appliance’s current data and settings. If you choose not to restore device inventory, operating-system images, firmware updates, and OS device drivers, only the default XClarity Administrator data is present after the restore operation completes.

Restoring a backup does not delete backups in the XClarity Administrator instance.

Restoring a backup does not change data or settings on the managed devices. For example, if you unmanage a device and then restore a previous backup when the device was still managed on XClarity Administrator, you might have connectivity issues with that device after the restore operation is complete. Likewise, if you manage a device and then restore a previous backup when the device was still unmanaged, you might need to manually modify the device's configuration to undo its managed status or use the Force option when trying to manage it in XClarity Administrator again.

You can restore a backup only in the same XClarity Administrator version that was used to create the backup.

Procedure

Complete the following steps to restore XClarity Administrator.

  1. From the XClarity Administrator menu bar, click Administration > Back Up and Restore Data. The Back Up and Restore Data page is displayed.
  2. If you exported the backup package to your local system and deleted it from XClarity Administrator, complete the following steps.
    1. From the Backup and Restore Data page, click the Import Backup icon (Import icon) to display the Import Backup dialog.
    2. Click Browse to find the backup that you exported from a XClarity Administrator instance.
    3. Click Import to upload the backup to the XClarity Administrator.

      Importing the backup might take a while. A progress bar shows the status of the job.

      Attention: If you close or refresh the web browser tab or window before the upload completes, the process might fail.
    4. When the import is complete, specify the encryption passphrase for the backup.
      Note: If you do not have the encryption passphrase, you will need to create a new backup in XClarity Administrator (see Backing up Lenovo XClarity Administrator).
  3. Select the backup to restore, and click the Restore Backup icon (Create backup icon). The Restore Data dialog is displayed.
  4. Specify the encryption passphrase for the backup.
  5. Click Confirm.
  6. In the Confirm Data Restore dialog, verify that the information in the dialog is correct.
  7. In the Restore Options dialog, optionally choose to import operating-system images, firmware updates, OS device drivers, network settings, and device inventory.
    Attention: Ensure that you carefully read all warning that are displayed in this dialog.
  8. Click Confirm to begin data restore.

    Restoring the data and settings might take a while. A progress bar shows the status of the job.

    When the restore process is complete, you are redirected to the login page.

    Attention: If you close or refresh the web browser tab or window before the process completes, process might fail.
  9. Log in to the XClarity Administrator to continue managing your devices.