Recovering ThinkSystem, Converged, NeXtScale, or System x M5 or M6 server management after a management server failure by resetting the management controller

You can recover management of a ThinkSystem, Converged, NeXtScale, or System x M5 or M6 server by resetting the baseboard management-controller in the server to factory defaults.

Procedure

Complete the following steps to recover management of a server that uses Lenovo XClarity Administrator managed authentication.

  1. If Encapsulation is enabled on the device, connect to the target management controller from a system that is configured to use the IP address of the failed XClarity Administrator virtual appliance.
  2. Reset the management controller to the factory defaults.
    1. Log in to the management controller web interface for the server using the recovery user account and password that you created before the server was managed by XClarity Administrator.
    2. Click the IMM Management tab.
    3. Click IMM Reset to factory defaults.
    4. Click OK to confirm the reset action.
    Important: After the BMC configuration is complete, the BMC is restarted. If this is a local server, your TCP/IP connection is broken and you must reconfigure the network interface to restore connectivity.
  3. Log on to the management controller web interface for the server again.
    Notes:
    • The BMC is initially configured to attempt to obtain an IP address from a DHCP server. If it cannot, it uses the static IPv4 address 192.168.70.125.
    • The IMMBMC is set initially with a user name of USERID and password of PASSW0RD (with a zero). This default user account has Supervisor access. Change this user name and password during your initial configuration for enhanced security.
  4. Reconfigure the network interface to restore connectivity. For more information, see the Integrated Management Module II online documentation.

What to do next

After XClarity Administrator is restored or replaced, you can manage the server again (see Managing servers). All information about the server (such as network settings, server policies, and firmware compliance policies) is retained.

If the server was configured using Configuration Patterns, you can deactivate and then re-activate the server profile that was assigned to the server to apply the configuration (see Working with server profiles).